Do what you want to do, not just what others want xo

Well hello, boys and girls, it’s been a while. Yes, I know I promised I would post more but I have a reaaaallly good excuse: I was busy completing my last finals EVER! So, I have no been tossed into the real world. I have a job as a receptionist (which is also my first job ever) and it’s amazing. Getting a job may not seem like a big deal to many, but for me it is incredible. You see, due to my disability it is hard for me to get taken seriously and people to see past my issues. I will forever be grateful for this opportunity. However, I must say, that I have no idea what I’m doing and feel a little like Rachel in Friends when she decides to leave her rich life!

Finishing my exams made me consider how I become okay with my entire plan changing. See, I convinced myself that I wanted to be a psychologist, I made a plan on how to become one, it consumed my future. Here’s the thing, I never actually wanted to be one. I started the degree because that’s what we were supposed to do, go to university and study something. I was interested in it and everybody said that I would be good at it.

Eventually, at some point in my degree I had to admit to myself and others I didn’t want to do this, my dad took it pretty hard. He had such high hopes for me and my career and now instead of being a psychologist, I am a receptionist in a clinic full of people who actually became psychologists. I think that hit my dad pretty strongly – and to be honest, he’s still hoping I’ll change my mind.

Here is the REALLY important thing though: irrelevant of how others will feel do what you need to do. Seriously, what is the point in life if you are living it in boredom or in a way that you hate? Telling people that you have changed your mind is, though and needs bravery but take heart and know that those who really love you will accept you and you will have people around. Remember, life is a series of ups and downs, try to make the most of the ups and learn from the downs and everything will work out, just the way it needs to. Keep your chin up, keep being strong and believe in yourself!

I love you all, feel free to comment thoughts, feeling etc; also I’d love you to share if you think someone may need this xo

2 thoughts on “Do what you want to do, not just what others want xo

Leave a Reply

