Find the Balance

Today I was supposed to go to my lecture, tutorial and have a large portion of my essay done. In reality, all I actually did was open up a word document, write two sentences, and then binge between House M.D and Gilmore Girls. This develops a  conflict in me. A part of me is frustrated that I did nothing; the other part is relieved.

Once you hit a certain age, people start to say “Make sure you have a work-life balance”. The trouble is, no tells you how. I’m not about to give you a step-by-step guide, but just what I have learnt through my time at university. It’s very simple really: don’t be too hard on yourself.

It sounds super obvious, but most people don’t follow this. I didn’t. When I didn’t, I nearly broke. I put way too much pressure on myself and ruined not just my happiness but also my academic career. The fact of the matter is if you don’t learn how to balance, life becomes really hard to manage.

I’m lucky because I learnt how to do it through university. If you need help ask, make plans with specific goals. Choose what’s the top of your priority list, focus on what makes you happy. I made my grades the top because that’s what I was supposed to do. That’s when my balance plummeted because it wasn’t what made me happy.

From my life, I have learnt this: happiness helps to lead to the balance, not the other way around. Choose what you need to balance, make a list, work out priorities (not just by enjoyment, but also dates that things need to be done etc); make specific goals and BREATHE.

Remember, anyone can talk to me!

You are all wonderful! Love you xo

 

Leave a Reply

